• Category Archives Awards and Titles
  • 2015 Championship Awards

    Club Championship Winners

    Yoogali Soccer Club – 92.5 Points (48 Wins, 10 Draws, 9 Losses)

    Minor Premiers Winners

    Over 35’s – Yenda Soccer Club

    AAM 1st – Hanwood Football Club

    AAM Res – Yoogali Soccer Club

    AAW – Yoogali Soccer Club

    18’s – Leeton United Football Club

    16 Girls – Yoogali Soccer Club

    16 Boys – Hanwood Football Club 16.1

    14 Girls – Yoogali Soccer Club

    14 Boys – Yoogali Soccer Club

    12 Girls – Hanwood Football Club 14.2

    12 Boys – West Griffith Soccer Club 12.2

    Golden Boot

    Over 35’s – Mathew Moon (YFC, 11 Goals)

    AAM 1st – Daniel Johnson (HFC, 20 Goals)

    AAM Res – Luke Papandrea (HFC, 22 Goals)

    AAW – Rachel Lyons (YSC, 10 Goals)

    18’s – Michael Cimador (HFC, 16 Goals)

    Best & Fairest

    Over 35’s – Ross Panabienco (GCFC) & Steven Serafin (Yenda SC)

    AAM 1st – Karim Moursi (WGSC)

    AAM Res – Ross Panabienco (GCFC)

    AAW – Melinda Bonetti (GCFC)

    18’s – Salvatore Amato (LUFC)


  • Billabong Cup Grand Final

    YOOGALI Football Club is the 2014 Billabong Cup champion having downed Hanwood Football Club in the grand final at Hanwood Oval yesterday 1-0.

    Coach Rocky Marando was elated with the victory, describing yesterday as “easily one of the best days of my life”.

    Fijian import Mulla Tina dived forward to head home the only goal of the match in the 15th minute to seal Hanwood’s fate.

    One of the competition’s best players, Hanwood forward Kyle Greaves, was noticeably absent from the tense encounter a telling factor that earned his marker Sam Kagtooa man-of-the-match honours.

    Throughout the season Hanwood FC has relied on its enviable pace and foot skill against the imposing physicality of Yoogali FC.

    But Hanwood’s star forwards Joey Schirripa and Matthew Fearon, along with midfield duo Michael Bresolin and Dem Torino, were shut down by forceful and intense defence.

    “Strength and physicality, particularly in the air, is clearly a strength of ours,” Marando said.

    “In the past we’ve been a short team but with the Fijian influence we have that extra height and physicality to get us over the line.“We went one goal up and after that we had chance after chance.

    “We just couldn’t bury them, but I told the boys to keep digging and heart got us over the line.”

    Lone scorer Mulla Tina had two other red-hot chances to extend the lead, as did Ura Loki and Pasquali Madafarri, all with crisp shots on goal that sailed high or wide.

    Referee Diego Menegazzo sent Marando from the field for verbal abuse with five minutes remaining at a time when Hanwood had two free kicks and a corner to score a late equaliser.

    In the post-match celebrations, Marando thought nothing of it, explaining he had felt hard done by but that there had been nothing sinister in his behaviour.

    “We get along with the refs good. We’re all good mates,” he said.

    “I thought a lot went against us today, like it tends to, but I won’t say too much more than that because we got the result and it’s all good.”

    Marando only took the reins from Pat Ciampa half-way through the season, but he said the jubilation of the squad and their fans after the final whistle gave him goosebumps.

    “This is just sensational. It’s been too long between drinks for this club,” he said.

    “Look at the passion of the boys celebrating. Money can’t buy this.

    “This is one of the greatest feelings in the world.”

    YFC’s Josh Bagiante was helped from the field in the final minutes of the match with a serious knee injury, giving rise to Marando’s on-stage joke the $5000 cash prize would be invested in physiotherapy.

    From Area News

  • Semi Finals Bulletin


    • Griffith City v Hanwood Junior FC at Exies Oval  6.30pm  on 22/08/2014
    • YSC v HFC at EW Moore Oval  6.30pm on 22/08/2014

    1st GRADE

    • YSC v HFC at EW Moore Oval  at 3pm on 24/08/204
    • Yoogali FC v Leeton at Noe Santolin Oval Yoogali at 7pm on 23/08/2014


    • HFC v YSC at EW Moore Oval at 1pm on 24/08/2014
    • Yoogali FC v Griffith City FC at Noe Santolin Oval at 5pm on 23/08/2014


    • YSC v Yenda SC at EW Moore Oval at 11am on 24/08/2014
    • HFC V Griffith City FC at Noe Santolin Oval at 3pm on 23/08/2014

    UNDER 18

    • West Griffith SC v HFC at EW Moore Oval at 9am on 24/08/2014
    • Leeton United FC v Yoogali FC at Noe Santolin Oval at 1pm on 23/08/2014

    U12’s Boys – 23/08/2014

    • 9am -Wests Prince Upholstery v Wests GMG Mitsubishi  – Field 4
    • 9.30am – Leeton United v HFC Steggles A  at Leeton Sports Ground   (Please Note Leeton FC Home game as they Finished 3rd in the table.)

    U14’s Boys- 23/08/2014

    • 10.30am – YSC Power Plus A v West Anzer Construction – Field 4
    • 10.30am – Yenda SC v  West Elders Real Estate – Field 5

    U16’s Boys -23/08/2014

    • 12.15pm – Yenda SC v HFC Steggles –  Field 4
    • 12.15pm – Wests GMG Isuzu v  GCFC Central – Field 5


    U12 Girls GRAND FINAL – 23/08/2014

    • 10.00am – YSC Power Plus U12G v Hanwood FC-Youth -Steggles U12 Girls  – Field 2


    U14’s Girls – 23/08/2014

    • 11.30am – YSC Power Plus 14G v Wests GMG Kia 14G –  Field 2
    • 11.30am – HFC Steggles  v GCFC Peeches 14G – Field 3

    U16’s Girls

    2pm – YSC Power Plus 16G v HFC Steggles 16G –  Field 4

  • 2013 Awards

    Minor Premiers

    AA Men Hanwood FC
    Reserve Grade Yoogali SC
    AA Women Yoogali SC
    Over 35’s Yoogali SC
    Under 18’s West Griffith SC
    Under 16’s Boys TBA
    Under 16’s Girls TBA
    Under 14’s Boys TBA
    Under 14’s Girls TBA
    Under 12’s TBA

    Grand Final Winners

    AA Men Yoogali SC
    Reserve Grade Yoogali SC
    AA Women Yoogali SC
    Over 35’s Yoogali SC
    Under 18’s West Griffith SC
    Under 16’s Boys TBA
    Under 16’s Girls TBA
    Under 14’s Boys TBA
    Under 14’s Girls TBA
    Under 12’s TBA

    Golden Boot

    AA Men Dane Ballard (33 Goals)
    Reserve Grade Scott Keith (12 Goals)
    AA Women Renae Foggiato (24 Goals)
    Over 35’s Paul D’arcy (11 Goals)
    Under 18’s Daniel Agresta (17 goals)

    Best and Fairest

    AA Men Derek McKechnie (20 Points)
    Reserve Grade Sandy Forster (17 Points)
    AA Women Renae Foggiato (19 points)
    Over 35’s Danny Careri (12 Points)
    Under 18’s Jayden Torino (13 Points)

    Club Championship

    Hanwood FC (85 Points)